Personal Goals for 2014

I am very eager and optimistic when looking forward to my 2014 competitive season.  An important part of training is to establish clear and quantitative goals that can easily be measured and determined whether or not they were accomplished.  My long term goals for the 2014 season are as follows

  • increase my functional threshold power by 5% by May 1st
  • maintain a healthy race weight of 63.5kg
  • obtain 20 points towards my cat 1 upgrade by the end of August
  • place top 20% overall at Joe Martin Stage Race(cat 1-2)
  • place top 10 at Hills of Somerset 

my short term goals for the remainder ’14 base season are

  • maintain a healthy training weight of 65kg
  • complete all of my workouts at the prescribed intensity and duration
  • sleep at least eight hours a night

Now that I have set clear goals for both the short term as well as the long term, my coach can develop a training schedule that will help me accomplish the goals.  If the goals are not accomplished, we can look back at ride files as well as post ride notes to determine what happened that led to the failure to complete the goal and in turn adjust so the next time we are able to accomplish a similar goal.  

Leave a comment